GIFT SHOP

HAWT is pleased to offer a variety of Woodbridge history related gift items for sale.
All profits benefit the Association.

"Cat's Meow" Woodbridge Landmark Replicas

Since 1982, Cat's Meow has been making unique custom cutout replicas of buildings around the world. HAWT is pleased to present six historic buildings from around the Township! Mounted on 3/4-inch thick wood with colorful detail, they are a great way for fans of Woodbridge Township to display their favorite landmarks. Made in U.S.A., the name of this woman-owned business in Wooster, Ohio, comes from their mascot, a lucky black cat named Casper, who hides in every piece as a charming detail!

86 Green Street

Built in 1870, this fine example of the Victorian style homes along Green Street will be the future home of HAWT and a new museum of Township history. The owners have links to many aspects of our Township's heritage!

Memorial Town Hall

Following the First World War, Woodbridge honored their veterans in 1924 by dedicating a new Memorial Town Hall to their memory. A $1,000 fund was raised to purchase bronze tablets inscribed with the names of those who served. These were mounted by the chamber entrance. The top floor was used by the American Legion. In 1994, the building was demolished and replaced by the present complex.

Old School #1

School #1 was opened January 6, 1877 and the first class graduated in 1884. It was built at a cost of $25,000 and its clock tower housed a 1,500-pound bell that struck the hour, inscribed, "Wisdom is better than gold." When the grades were separated in 1888, it became the high school. A large rear wing was added in 1904. The tower was removed in 1967 over safety concerns due to its decaying wood. The now-silent bell today sits at Park Press Park. A set of hands from the clock were saved and are in HAWT's collection. Since 1963, the building has been the home of the Woodbridge Township Board of Education’s Administrative Offices.

Barron Arts Center

Thomas Barron (1790–1875) funded the construction of the building in his will, and it would become the first free public library in Middlesex County. The brownstone building was designed by architect J. Cleaveland Cady in the Richardsonian Romanesque style and features a three-story clock tower. The fireplace in the Reading Room is bordered with blue and white Delft tiles, each depicting a biblical scene. The library was dedicated on September 11, 1877. In 1967, it became part of the Woodbridge Township Library System, and In 1977 the arts center for Woodbridge Township.

Old White Church

This fine house of worship sits on a site that has been home to the First Presbyterian Church of Woodbridge Township since the congregation was established in 1675. Behind it is one of the most historic cemeteries in the state, including the graves of many founding Township families: Freemans, Cutters, Pikes, Bloomfields, Barrons, Edgars, Ayers, Moores, Pralls, Inselees and Harneds. The cemetery marks the burial place of Mary Compton Campbell, the first baby of European descent born in Woodbridge, who died in 1735 at the age of 67; General Nathaniel Heard who led the Middlesex County Militia to Perth Amboy in 1775 and arrested William Franklin, the Royal Governor of New Jersey; and James Parker, who established New Jersey's first print shop in Woodbridge. 

Trinity Church

The Anglican-Episcopalian congregation became active on December 29, 1703, and the first church was erected about 1717. The second church, erected on the same site in 1754, was granted a charter by King George III on December 6, 1769. It was destroyed by fire in 1858. The cornerstone of the present church was laid on July 7, 1860. The building was consecrated May 20, 1861. It has an historic cemetery with burials dating to 1715. The Jonathan Singletary Dunham House, built c. 1700, serves as its rectory.

Purchase the Whole Collection for $60 and save $30!